DOC - New Marine Reserves for the Southeast of the South Island

The Minister of Conservation has announced that six new marine reserves will be established along the southeast coast of the South Island from Timaru to Waipapa Point in Southland.

They will come into force following an Order in Council and gazettal process, which is likely to be completed by mid-2024

For more information see the Department of Conservation website.